The starting a business mountain seems to keep growing.

7 09 2010

I’m definitely feeling discouraged in my pursuit to start my own business. On top of the fact that starting my own business is a gargantuan feat, I have hardly any time to dedicate to make it happen. Why can’t there be more than 24 hours in a day? I’m not sure that would actually help. I’d probably choose other things in my spare time. That’s what I need to remember now. I must make a choice to spend time on this. I must make a choice to spend time on this. I need to make that my mantra from here on out.

The cool thing is that what’s been keeping me busy is stationery/freelance design projects. They keep plopping in my lap, and I definitely can’t say no. As I’m working on them, I sit and wonder (for only the millionth time): How do I make this profitable? I have very much valued agency life because of what it has been for me. And so I have often thought about translating my love for design into agency work. I think the luster of that would only last so long. I’m not sure I want to thrive on clients 24/7. Thus I head back down the path of stationery design. The only problem is that it continues to scream: home-based business. While there is nothing wrong with a home-based business, it is so not for me. Mary Kay, Arbonne, Pampered Chef. Yeah, I don’t quite see that working out.

Why can’t the brilliant idea just plop in my lap? Preferably right now because I’m at lunch and have time to deal with it! Actually that could be bad. I might end up not going back to work this afternoon, or ever.

I guess the moral of this story is that my journey continues. Stay tuned.


Actions

Information

One response

7 09 2010
Tamara

Don’t miss out on the joy of the journey….that’s where all the valuable lessons are learned.

Leave a comment